The Shaman

As I stood in the near darkness she wafted smoke across my body with a feather. She asked me to repeat after her. Words of affirmation, confirmation and grounding.  I stood there with my eyes closed soaking in the sensations. As the ritual came to an end she said to me, “What are you writing? I see words all over you, surrounding you, floating out from you.”

It took me a moment to respond. Her clarity and vision surprised me. I stammered a bit and smiled then answered that I write all the time. Nothing long like a book but I have messages that come to me all the time and I share them. I call them messages from the Spirit. They are always full of love and encouragement and support.

They come to me when I’m doing yoga, or on a hike and even while I’m looking at pictures on my phone. Sometimes they are garbled and take a while to make sense. Sometimes they are urgent and I can’t relax until they are on the paper (or computer screen) and sometimes I get nothing for a week or so and I wonder if they’ve stopped or if I’m just not listening.

Life is full of messages. There are the loud obstinate voices that demand to be heard and then there are the quiet whispering voices who speak truth to your heart. It is my goal to be somewhere in the middle. Some days I feel like shouting to the world, “CAN YOU HEAR ME?” and other days I just want to whisper in your ear, “Do you know how lovely you are?”

Either way, the words keep coming and I’ll keep sending them out to the Universe. It’s all I can do. I hope it’s enough and that someone finds encouragement and love.

Besos, Dawn

 

Leave a Reply

