Going Gray…scratch that…SILVER!

O.M.G. My hair is really going gray…ummmm I mean silver! I decided a couple of months ago that I was tired of the incessant color, grow out, hide my head routine and that it was time to let my natural color shine! But to be really honest, I wasn’t sure if I could do it. I didn’t know if I’d freak out and start coloring again or if I’d be able to remain brave!

What really surprises me is that I’m fine. I’m not freaking out. I’m not feeling older. I’m not feeling self-conscious or worried at all. I’m actually enjoying it! I don’t know why I didn’t do this much earlier!

I started coloring my hair when I was about 30. I remember going to the salon and crying in my chair because I was going gray and I didn’t want to look old! My stylist was patient with me and gave me some golden highlights which were supposed to make me feel better and they did for a while. But very quickly I had mostly blondish hair and when I looked at photos I didn’t recognize myself!

So after that I decided to color my hair dark brown. I used an at home single process – Clairol #120. It was my go-to color for years and years.  Until this year. I’m going to be 50 this year and as you can see my hair is really silver so every time it would start to grow out my roots would be very visible. That combined with the fact that I needed to color every three weeks really began to wear on me!

On top of all of that, as a yoga instructor and motivational speaker I am always talking about authenticity, about loving yourself as you are, about being the REAL you….and I didn’t feel like I was doing that. I felt fake, pretend and like I was hiding behind my hair color. I don’t want to do that anymore.

So here I am in all my glory. My crown is totally silver. It feels like I’m stepping through a new threshhold….one that will burn away all the chaff. Into a place where My body, my mind and yes, even my hair will be gloriously me – ALL me. No additives, artificial colors or preservatives! LOL

Now my eyebrows…..that’s another story…..:)

Leave a Reply

