Yoga with Dunja – LaConner, WA

When you take a class from a Master Yogi you know it. There is a divine peace that is palpable in the room. This calm combined with a wealth of knowledge permeates the senses as you move through the guided postures and sit in meditation. Dunja Lingwood is a Guru. I can still feel her presence in my head and my heart after attending practice this week at the Museum of Northwest Art in LaConner, WA.

Practicing in a museum is new for me. The setting is perfect though. The lighting is low, It’s quiet and you are surrounded by art that evokes emotion, memories and dreams. Much like our practice – we craft, refine, add a bit here, move away from tension there. We put a lot of love and effort into it. Our practice is a work of art!

As we refined our practice I was enchanted by Dunja. I felt as if I was in the presence of one of the Elven Royalty from The Lord of The Rings! I was slightly in awe yet intrigued and drawn in by her lovely smile and embrace. At the same time, I realized that this person holds great power and strength and maybe even a little magic! I tried to guess her heritage. She is tall and lithe with a pixie blonde haircut, sharp eyes that miss nothing, a generous mouth and a flowing accent that sounds Scandinavian(?) – definitely not American. Richer, fuller sounds came from her mouth as she invited us to, “find the circle of the palm” or “widen and freshen your toes.” That one made me giggle!

Her directions became deeper, sensing – no, KNOWING what we felt in our body and how to adjust a hip here or a foot there. THAT is what practicing with a master does for you! Years of practice has taught her how this pose feels, she knows how to let loose of that tense shoulder or how to deepen the stretch….because she’s done this before – many times and she knows how to lovingly guide you through.

As the asana portion came to end we moved into meditation. I’ve meditated before but nothing like this! As I settled in to Sukhasna, I found my mind at ease, my body ready to be still and my heart open. I let my mind drift – not attaching to any thought for long. I felt great! I felt light and relaxed. I felt present. And then after a while I began to feel something else…..I began to notice an irritating tingle in my right leg – dang it! My leg had fallen asleep and I needed to move it to increase the blood flow. Moving my leg brought me out of meditation just before our time ended and I spent a lovely few minutes feeling grateful for the experience.

As practice ended Dunja called out blessings on us as she waved goodbye. It was a great experience – and you will love her too!

If you are interested in taking your practice to another level may I humbly recommend you try a class with a Master Yogi, a Guru, someone who has developed their practice over years. Dunja Lingwood is a good choice and you can find her schedule on her blog: http://peaceishealthy.blogspot.com/

 

Leave a Reply

