It’s All In Your Head

I made it up the hill today on my bike! It’s a big hill too – well for me it is. It’s not all that steep but pedaling uphill for a mile is challenging for me. Today was the first time I’ve ridden up the hill since last year. The funny thing about this hill is that it’s all in my head. I mean, the hill is real but my ability to make it all the way to the top rests on my belief that I can do it!

Have you learned this lesson yet? That what we think we CAN do – we can do. And what we tell ourselves we CAN’T do becomes impossible? It’s amazing really – the power of our mind. The power to decide whether we can or can’t, whether we’re good enough or not, whether we deserve good things or not, whether we ARE good or not.

This is the reason why some of us are our own worst enemy. I don’t know where the negative voice comes from. Is it the voice of our parents or the voice of some other authority figure? Is is just a collective mind of negativity that we share? Because we do share it! I have spoken to many people and most of us have a negative voice in our head that tells us, “It will never work,” or “You’re too fat” or “What the hell do you think you’re doing?”

That voice even calls us names sometimes. Think about it……Does that voice call you an idiot or stupid or ugly or worthless? Would you be friends with someone who called you those things? I wouldn’t. So the trick it to change it. EVERY time I heard something negative I pause and refute whatever that negative message was. If it said, “You’re fat!” I say, “I’m healthy!” If it said, “you’re stupid” I say “Nope. I have a 4.0GPA….and so on.

It’s also true in our Yoga practice. When I teach inversions (head stand, hand stand) I can watch students shake their head and actually say out loud, “I can’t do that.” They won’t even try. They have decided they can’t – and then they literally can’t.

I still struggle with this too. But I have learned that I have the power to make it better. There are days when I listen and that negative voice affects my mood and motivation. But NOT today! Today I was victorious! I told myself, “You got this! You CAN do this! You are a Rock star! Just keep going! You are doing so good! And when I got to the top of the hill I knew I was right.

Love y’all!

Leave a Reply

