Plot Twist!

I was almost in a car accident today – A BIG one. It was a close call and I’m still a little shaken. I was driving down the road with a friend and I looked in the rear view mirror to see a car coming up fast on my tail. I took my foot off the gas and gave the brake a slight tap just so she would see my brake lights and maybe slow down. But she didn’t. When she was mere inches from my bumper, her car began to wobble side to side and then the car flew off to the left across oncoming traffic, went airborne and landed in a bush about a foot away from a telephone pole!

I pulled over. My friend called 911 and I went to see the damage. Unbelievably, the young woman was up and out of her car looking for her belongings!!!! Not a scratch on her anywhere! I still don’t know what happened. I don’t know if she was on something or maybe was texting and didn’t look up to see me until it was almost too late. It could have been really bad – that would have been a huge PLOT TWIST in my day!

The last 9 months have included plot twist after plot twist. I used to be a perfectionist. I liked plans, schedules, time tables and lists. But over the last nine months nothing has gone according to plan. In fact, we keep changing plans and that is not easy for me – I mean I’m getting better at it but right now I’m really happy that I’m going to be in one place for the next four months!

How do you handle it when life changes plans on you? When things don’t work out the way you originally thought and you have to choose a new direction? What if that happened 10 times in a nine month period? How would you feel? It makes me think of Bruce Lee’s quote: “Be the water!” The water just keeps on rolling. It pays no mind to the roadblocks or changes in it’s path. It goes around the rocks, over logs, under branches…but it doesn’t stop….it just keeps on rolling.

In yoga we call the act of letting go and being unattached to outcomes Aparigraha. I think that’s what my lesson has been. Let go. Let go of what you thought would be. Let go of your plans. Let go of the attachment to your lists. Let go of control – oh crap that’s a big one! And when you let go of all of that what then? All that is left is to just BE. Be in the moment. Appreciate the experiences you DID have instead of the ones that didn’t work out.

So look for the good. Appreciate what you do have instead of what didn’t work out. Be in this moment. Because you never know when some crazy person might come along and knock you into next week with their car!!! And that’s a Plot Twist that none of us want to experience!

Leave a Reply

