Pack for an Adventure!

If you were told that you would be leaving on a 6 to 9 month adventure what would you take with you and what would you leave behind?

In 14 weeks we launch! We are headed on a cross country vagabond with a truck and boat to sail lakes, the Sea of Cortez, off the coast of California and hopefully to the Bahamas! It’s going to be an awesome road trip BUT – and this is big….we will be living out of our truck so I really have to travel lightly!

Exactly how lightly you ask? Well, my goal was to get all of my clothes into one tote. Clothes only, this does not include shoes, hats, coats, jewelry, yoga gear or toiletries. Here’s where I am so far…

20150513_083741

I have one fully packed tote with everything I think I will need for a 6 to 9 month jaunt across the country. Plus I’m going to need one more tote for shoes, accessories and such.

My boyfriend suggested that we “practice pack” for our big journey two weeks ago and I thought he was crazy! I don’t need to practice pack! I’ve been traveling with only a backpack for the better part of the last year. But then I realized those trips were short – 10 days to two weeks. This is going to be a much longer journey!

I was worried about how I would pare down my closet. I thought I only had the necessities already. But when I set up to do it, I found the decision making process easier than I thought it would be. I went through my closet and only pulled out the things I absolutely love, that fit me correctly and I couldn’t live without. Only my favorites. And I tried to do it very quickly. I found that if I started to hesitate over an item that meant it was not an absolute yes and I put it back in the drawer.

I put all of the “leave behinds” in the lower drawers and put the stuff I’m taking back into the top of my wardrobe. The goal is to only use these clothes for the next 14 weeks to see if I’m missing anything or if I have things planned to take with me that I don’t actually need and can leave behind. It’s only been two weeks and I think I already have about 4 more items I can leave behind!

11311921_10205786602996712_181087998_n

It’s amazing how much stuff we have that we don’t really need! I downsized when I moved out of our house into The Gypsy Love Bus – and now I’m downsizing again! I know many people who are comfortable to travel living out of just a backpack and I bow low with “I’m not worthy!” ringing in my head. Maybe someday I’ll get there but not quite yet.

Just remember stuff does not define you.  Experiences enrich your soul Рleave the stuff behind and go have a life!

Live Simply, Breathe Deeply, Travel Lightly!

Leave a Reply

