Surviving Thailand

Sad isn’t it? But that’s how I feel. I’ve just returned from a 10 day trip through Thailand with my daughter and the first thing that comes to mind is that I’m glad to be back home! Don’t get me wrong, Thailand is a great place to visit and I did have some fun experiences while I was there but I should have done more research. April is the hottest month in Thailand with temps ranging from the 90s to 100s which we both found to be almost physically unbearable. The heat was a weight on us the entire time that made everything we did more difficult and we each got sick at different times during the trip.

While we spent every waking moment trying to avoid the heat and stay hydrated we did have some fun experiences and the “fun” started right at the very beginning. As we made our way from the airport to the hotel I noticed the prettiest multicolored taxis in hot pink, neon yellow, bright green and orange filling the streets! And I mean FILLING!

20150404_070738-1

Even though these pretty taxis fill the streets there is still plenty of room on the road for huge trucks full of hay and harvested goods, commercial trucks, bicycles, pedestrians, motorcycles and hundreds of scooters carrying multiple passengers weaving in and out between the cars! We decided that traffic lanes are basically just a suggestion in Thailand. Because everyone drives anywhere they want, whenever they want, FAST and about one inch away from one another! We were sure we were going to crash every time we drove anywhere!

The shopping was interesting too! Since it is so hot during the day the markets open up at night time with hundreds of street vendors selling clothing, collectibles, jewelry and tasty, tasty treats! Like this plate full of fried grasshoppers, mealworms and other cripsy critters! I did in fact eat two of these bugs just so I could say I tried them. What do they taste like? They taste crunchy!

20150404_061611

20150407_062434

Meeting elephants was probably the most fun part of our trip and  was what my daughter looked forward to the most. I wish you could have seen her face as she began to coo and talk to the elephants. She had this look of awe and love and wonder all mixed together with just a dash of wary added in for good measure.

We’ve previously only seen elephants in a zoo and there the elephants are far away and you can’t interact with them. They are just creatures in a cage – uninterested in us. In Thailand the elephants were about 4 to 6 feet away. We could look them in the eye, touch their trunks, see the wiry hair on the head, notice their long eyelashes and have a conversation!

This is one of the elephants we met. They have her in a pen with a 6 week old baby elephant who had been orphaned. I thought I was out of her reach while my daughter took this picture! She was sniffing me!

20150408_215017-1

Learning about the culture in Thailand was fun too. We visited some of the most beautiful temples and the Grand Palace. It was amazing to see all the work that went into the buildings and statues. Glorious amazing places that made me stop and stare.

20150406_032557

But for me the absolute best part of this whole trip was being able to spend time with my daughter. Just her and I on an adventure together in a foreign country. This trip was my gift to her. A big 18th birthday/Christmas/Graduation gift all rolled into one. It was also a way for me to say to her, “You’re an adult now. Go life your best life! See what the world is all about! Make it yours! Make it Awesome! I love you!” I think she got the message.

20150404_065609

Our first night in Bangkok at the night market.

20150407_211326

At our lunch spot in Chiang Mai. Gorgeous Girl. 🙂

20150409_040952

Getting dressed up for dinner.

20150411_225251

Our last full day on the busy streets of Bangkok.

20150413_002247

Weary travelers sitting in the airport. Ready to go home.

I love you Kendal. We did it! We went to Thailand! I hope you continue to travel and see parts of the world that interest you. I am proud of you and look forward to seeing what you make of your life! ~ Momma Bird.

Leave a Reply

