Come Play – Utah Style!

I know I’m in Utah but I feel as if I am visiting another planet! Everything is so different here and so RED! Towering cliffs rise thousands of feet above the ground surrounded by skirts of rubble. Gigantic stone spires resemble soldiers frozen in place. Mountains that look like castles for giants. Cavernous valleys that include every color of the rainbow.  And every bit of it is hauntingly beautiful and inviting me to come play!

20141226_131018-1

This is my Christmas Present – this trip through the high desert southwest. I mentioned to my boyfriend that I had never seen the Grand Canyon nor the National Parks such as Arches or Canyonlands in southern Utah so he planned a trip to bring me here! So far, I think it’s the best Christmas present I’ve ever received!

Our first day in Moab, Utah we headed straight to Arches National Park. The sky was brilliant blue and the sun was shining – something we seldom see in Seattle! I enjoy hiking and the 2 miles was an easy trek for me. As we came around the last bend in the trail and I saw Delicate Arch I said, “Well, Hello Gorgeous!” and let out a laugh!

Delicate Arch is a freestanding Arch on the far side of a large rounded bowl that has a huge hole at the center! I knew I was going to make my way over to the arch somehow – but having a fear of heights makes things a little sketchy for me. It took me awhile to accomplish and I was shaking like a leaf the whole time but I will never forget the feeling of standing inside that Arch. I felt light, happy, playful and giddy beyond all belief!

20141224_105656-1-1

It’s very similar to the feeling I had the first time I did a handstand all by myself! I was at work – in a closed studio room – and when I kicked my feet up and touched the wall I let out a shout so loud that people came running to see what had happeened. I was so happy that it bubbled up out of me!!!! I had done it! I had done a handstand! I had walked over to the arch! Yay!!!!! Woohoo!!!!! Happy Dance!!!!!! Look what I did!!!!!

I love that moment in life. That moment when you feel connected. That moment where heart, mind and body are ONE. That moment when Joy is felt in every pore of your being. No matter where I go, or what yoga studio I visit I know that I will feel that connection. Each teacher does things a little differently but my practice will always give me joy. I will feel peaceful, accomplished, and filled with wonder EVERY time.

Today I practiced at  Moab Yoga.  Our instructor Lily Houghton has been teachging Yoga for about 2 years. She also works for the National Park Service so she’s familiar with the awe and wonder available in the nearby parks! Lily is a great yoga teacher.  Her voice combined with her gentle instructions make for a calm practice which is exactly what I needed after all the recent excitement.

My favorite part of visiting studios is that I get to see and learn new things! What I learned today was Lily’s transition from Pigeon Prep Pose to Cow Faced Pose. After Pigeon Prep – we rolled onto the front outer hip bringing the back leg to the front and crossing it over at the knees. I had never seen it done that way before!

20141226_095831

Yoga is my constant in a life full of gypsy travel and change. Whether it is that “Yahoo!” moment of handstand or the serenity of a peaceful practice. Both are important parts of my life. I love my yoga gypsy lifestyle. I hope you love your life too. Namaste y’all!

 

Leave a Reply

