UnSizeMe Please!

What kind of yoga studio has a name like UnSizeMe? And what does it mean? I had a couple of people tell me that it is a great hot yoga studio in Oak Harbor and as I’m always up for a new adventure I decided to give it a try.

I walked inside and picked up a business card.  It reads:

UnAgeMe UnLabelMe UnSizeMe UnCageMe UnCompareMe

Wow! Isn’t that awesome? Finally a yoga studio that is facing these topics head-on and inviting the conversation! Let’s get real. We all deal with these issues. Most of the yoga magazines showcase young, small and extremely bendy people. Is that our role model? Is that what it’s all about? There are lots of us out here practicing that do not fit in that small category (No pun intended). We are many different ages and sizes and abilities.

To be totally honest, just before coming to class I purchased a new scale. It seems I am never happy with my size. I’m always about 10 pounds away from my idea of the “perfect” size. How appropriate that I end up at UnSizeMe tonight! Can anyone say Karma? LOL.

As class began I noticed very quickly that our teacher’s presence filled the room in an “It’s ok, I’m here for you, Let’s love ourselves, I see you.” kind of way. She exudes the most lovely earth mother feeling as though she’s lived many lives and has a lot of knowledge to share with us – if we will listen.

Carol Sele – tonights teacher – is the Originator of UnSizeMe. She has been teaching yoga for about 11 years and taught in Coupeville before coming to Oak Harbor. I was dying to find out how she came up with the name of her studio.  Most studios have some sanskrit name or Hot Yoga etc……but not this one. UnSizeMe is unique – just like its owner.

Carol’s vision is best said in her own voice.   “The name UnSizeMe means: We are not a size, we are a spirit. This yoga studio is about what our bodies and mind can learn; not our size, age, culture or gender. UnSizeMe is about strength, potential and inner power. This studio is motivational and spiritually based and it is our quest to undo societal pressures and perfectionism. It is dim, warm and very zen.

20141217_170257

We are about transforming from the inside out in a nonjudgmental, uncompetitive, fun, loving environment. Our teachers have amazing training and experience but more important are humble, joyful, patient and consider themselves students in every way.” (www.unsizeme.com)

I could feel every ounce of that vision in the class that Carol taught. She is knowledgeable, humorous, giving and welcoming. Her classes are for every age, size, ability and gender. She shows that yoga is not just about the asana. It’s also about how you treat yourself and others!

When all is said and done I want be remembered as a person with an open giving heart, a good listener and friend, loving, kind and giving. Thank you for the reminder that comparing myself to others only leads to heart ache and that thinking I’m not good enough because I’m not 10 pounds lighter is folly.

I’m a work in progress just like everyone else but I know that my size does not define me. I am an adventurous spirit who loves yoga, fitness, walking in the woods, being with my friends and sharing light with everyone around.

Carol, The light in me thinks the light in you is freaking awesome! Shine on lady!

330801_4627563199514_1593779186_o

Leave a Reply

