Old Woman on my Mat!

Who was that old woman on my mat last night? Someone came in and got on my mat replaceing me with a version of myself that was stiffer, tired more easily, wanted the teacher to go slower and had a hard time keeping up! It was awful! I want to blame it on the lateness of the class or the fact that we’ve been having really cold weather. But I have a feeling it was neither of those things.

Please tell me I’m not the only one experiencing this? Don’t get me wrong. I know I’m no spring chicken – 47 in fact. But I’ve never felt this way on my mat before. As a teacher, I have said in class many times, “We have to use the body we bring to the mat today.” And now I know how that feels because yesterday it was not the usual “me” on my mat.

I had the pleasure of practicing at Maya Shakti in Anacortes with Erica who has been teaching for about a month. Erica is super fit and has an easy smile that she used to encourage this old lady to keep moving last night. Erica was trained at 3 Ohms Yoga in Bellingham in the Baptiste tradition. The class was a hot power flow and BOY did we flow! We did about 20 chatturangas and even that was modified because Erica noticed that we were getting tired. That’s a good teacher right there! One who is aware of how her class is handling the practice. The thing I plan to borrow from class last night was Erica’s use of balance postures linked together. She had us do Hand to Big Toe (modified) right into Warrior III followed by Half Moon. Oh my aching Piriformis! It was very challenging but fun too!

I’m not sure what was going on with the old lady last night but it wasn’t fun. I hope she stays hidden for a while longer because I don’t want to live my life feeling achey, slow and tired. So, if you’ll excuse me I’m going to lace up my tennis shoes and take the old lady for a walk and make her sweat to thank her for last night!

Namaste Y’all – The light in me thinks the light in you is freaking awesome!

Leave a Reply

