Balance – It’s not just about Tree!

 

 

998085_10201075444060683_42961321_n

 

I’ve been having a really hard time with balance lately and I’m not talking about tree pose or the nifty slack line knee balance shown above. I’ve been having a hard time with balancing my life!

For the last few months I have had this overwhelming urge (read hot burning desire) to make a bigger income. I have looked for work at every yoga studio, gym, retirement home, apartment complex, fire station and cross fit within a 30 mile radius from where I live. And all I keep hearing is “No or No thanks.”

It is extremely frustrating to be a new-in-town yoga teacher. The studios want me to join and start taking classes (read pay them money) before they will even entertain the idea of letting me sub for a teacher. The gyms only use the Les Mills approved curriculum of Zumba and Body Pump etc. I’ve had some success with the retirement homes (yay!) and even teach one Cross Fit Recovery class.  But overall I’m still poor. I made a total of about $160 for January. (This is an estimate as I’m still waiting on one paycheck)

I mean don’t get me wrong. I live with my boyfriend and he is awesome. He takes care of the mortgage and all the bills but I WANT TO BE ABLE TO SUPPORT MYSELF!

Then came the big question….”Do I need to give up my dream of teaching yoga and just go get a (real) job?” This question hung in the air above my head like a visible thought balloon for about a week as I seriously contemplated the possibilities. Luckily I have very reasonable and sane friends who reminded me that having a (real) job didn’t necessarily mean I had to give up teaching yoga.

AHA! Balance – I need to find balance. I can work and teach yoga too right? Yes, that’s right. I can and will…….as soon as someone gives me a job! Until then I am working (and I mean really working damn it) on not being upset that I’m not making more money, that I have very few students and that I haven’t heard a yes back from Starbucks or REI or any of the other places I’ve applied for a (real) job.

This life isn’t always easy. But I’m glad I have it. I’m glad I got to wake up this morning and breathe all day. I’m glad I have good friends who remind me not to panic, good friends who tell me the truth when I’m losing my mind and smart friends who remind me to try to find some balance! Thanks Guys! Love Y’all!

Leave a Reply

